Tuesday, March 31, 2009

In the mac lab again. My sunday and monday became one yesterday because I was fixing up a photoshop assignment due today... I came back today to finish and submit it when I found out that all my work didn't save. So, I have to a half-ass job to get the thing finished... and as I look at the clock, it turns to the time it's supposed to be due. Freaking rendering.

Yeah... I need to get more sleep, too. I feel like crap, even though I'm not acting like it. I've been stressing my body out for the last few days and it sucks.

I'm going to go hand more resumes out tomorrow... I still haven't heard anything about a job. This sucks! I am quite qualified to do all these small jobs I've applied for. I think I'll have to fix my resume up some more to get what I want.

I kinda want to head back home soon for a visit.

Tuesday, March 24, 2009

Hey, sorry for the delay in posting. I have a crap load of work going on in school.

I have a film shoot tomorrow at a conservation area. Should be good. We did a shoot on saturday and it went well. We just need to get a few more shots in before Mike goes back to Orillia for his placement.
TV isn't going too well as far as I'm concerned. Spending too much time on lighting and arguing. It's kinda getting on my nerves, but of course, I'm a camera operator for this project, so I don't have to worry about too much more than framing. What we are working on is our pilots and we chose to have ours almost all bluescreened. I think post production is going to be very time consuming.

On the job front... Next to no one is hiring. I keep putting out resumes but no one seems to be calling. I don't understand. I'm probably going to talk to a few managers tomorrow. Hopefully they'll be hiring for the summer soon. I need a job for three reasons right now; too stay where I am, to save for school, and to be able to ride my unicycle to Montreal and possibly back. Without a job... I'm pretty much toast, me thinks.

Right now I'm in the midst of rearranging and tidying up my room (yay). Need to get laundry done soon. Bleh. Things just have to get done at some point.

Anyway... That's it on my plate right now. I'm putting some of my favorite photographs on the wall where the headboard is on my bed. I'm really enjoying looking at some of them and I can see my eye for good composition is becoming better. (WOO!)

Thursday, March 12, 2009

Yeah, mac sucks.
Words brought to you by Sarah. This Mac keyboard is crap.

Anyway... I'm up past 5am helping keeping Sarah  sanity as she finishes her project. I'm probably not getting any sleep tonight. Er, this morning.

Things are getting busy with TV and Film. I need a job still. *explosions and maddness everywhere* 

I'm tired... More blogging later.

Thursday, February 26, 2009

New Rent and Dance Parties

Well, it's almost 3am on a Thursday. Just finishing off my lead class discussion about Tasers. I think it'll go well... I'm probably going to be BSing my way through it for the most part, but I think I know what I'm talking about.

Friday night, on my birthday, was interesting. I had a few drinks for the first and last time. I wouldn't say it was a bad experience, but alcohol is not something I want to be involved with. I thought I'd just take the fact that my friends were willing to pay for me and use it just to see how well I'd handle it. It was an experiment for myself. I didn't get too drunk that I wouldn't remember it, so I know what happened.

Still planning on going to Montreal in the summer. I signed a lease to a new apartment, so I have to plan the ride before or after I move in... As I think of it, after might be the better choice, that way I can do it without having to worry too much about a deadline other than the beginning of the next school year. So, I guess I'll be planning the ride for early August. Also, I was talking with the TWIG crew and Mike "The Birdman" Dodd might be able to get a camera for me to vlog my trip as well as blog it. I've been thinking of getting a smaller computer for the trip, too. I like this one, but it's very big and I don't think i use it to it's full potential. I might end up selling it after I get it fixed. There are a few neat subnotes I've been looking at that have a much longer battery life, too.

Other uni news... I was interviewed by my friend Mike for a story he's writing for the Niagara College newspaper. We talked for a good two hours about unicycling and I believe he got most of it on tape... That'll be interesting to sift through. He also took some pictures of me riding. T'was good.

On the 21st, the day after my birthday, Mike, Ken and I went up to Toronto to participate in the Toronto Subway Dance Party. It was one of those flashmob things. I helped out as one of the leaders of a train car full of people. We started off with one person dancing and then as we stopped at each station, we had more join in until we were all dancing. The great thing about it was that there were a few people on the trains who had no idea what was going on. We were all dancing to music on our mp3 players, so it looked like we were dancing to music that wasn't there. The group "Improv in Toronto" organized it and it looks like they are going to organize another one in the summer. Definitely going to that one, and hopefully there will be an even bigger crowd of people.

Friday, February 20, 2009

Ah... Another year closer to death

Well, it's mah birthday! 21 today! I am currently in the Radio Lab at school and waiting for my music spotlight project to export as an mp3 mixdown file. Listening to Daft Punk, too. Although, that's not very surprising.

We shall see what becomes of the day as it progresses... Apparently I get a party. But I should sleep soon as it is 12:30 ish.

Wednesday, February 18, 2009

I had a pretty good weekend. Catherine came down and stayed a few nights. We hung out with some of my friends; Jaz and Zach for the most part. Cath and I had some pretty good conversations and I hope she had a good time. I'm going to see her again on Saturday. Ken and I are going up to Toronto to participate in the second annual TTC Subway Dance Party and we'll be meeting her there. It's going to be awesome.

Going to be taking and scanning more pictures with a still film camera.

Thursday, February 12, 2009

Still jobless and looking for adventure

Well, I'm still looking for a job. Not too much else going on. I have another alpha meeting tonight that I'm going to try work around. I missed last week due to something else I had to do (I can't recall what that was...). I plan on going to another part of town tonight to pass out resumes. Going to try Giant Tiger and the other stores around there.

And a few good links:
This guy, Graham Hughes is trying to set foot in every country on the planet in one year. Think he can do it? Subscribe to him and follow his journey.
http://www.youtube.com/user/thatgingerscouser

Then there's Rob Lilwall, who cycled home to London, England from Siberia. It took him about three years to do.
http://www.cyclinghomefromsiberia.com


And while you're at it, check out my new website: http://www.niagaraunicycleclub.com/

I'm really inspired by these people. I'm promising myself that I am going to go on some epic adventure at some point in my life. The Niagara to Montreal ride will be a taste of what will come in the future.

Man, the last few days have been awesome to ride. I broke out my 36er and I've been riding around Welland. The downside is that its been quite wet... It was raining all day yesterday and I couldn't get out to do anything. But I'm going out tonight to ride a bit before the alpha meeting, and as I said, I'm going to go hand out resumes and pretty much beg for a job.

I might have a place to live lined up for next year. AJ is trying to get me to live with him and a bunch of people from the TWIG. I think I'm going to go for it, even though it's a little more expensive than my current position, I want to live with people I'm familiar with and I know I'll get along with.